Feature: The Search for Something Else

I’ve come across so many wonderful bloggers as of late. They all tell a story of change, evolution and personal growth. Many quit their jobs to avoid the 9-5 simply because it makes them cringe. All are crafting the next chapter. I’m in the process of reaching out to these thinkers, bloggers and women in search of something else to learn their stories.

Jas Photo 1

The first woman I’m featuring is a gal named Jasmine. She’s not just California dreamin’, she’s dreaming of a new journey to clarity and purpose. I asked Jasmine to talk about her inspiration, style how she plans to captivate her audience. Read below!

Tell me a little about what’s going on in your life at this present moment

Well if you were to have asked me this question a few weeks ago, I would have said I was a full time college student, who was working full time at a law firm, and living with my long-term boyfriend. However, things have drastically changed and I have been open to this new cycle in my life. After much thought and reasons, I decided to officially quit college and soon right after I quit my secure 9-5 job. I realized these things weren’t serving my purpose any good. I was always “busy” yet I never felt like I was really accomplishing anything. I was mentally and emotionally drained and I never had time to do any of the things that fueled my soul. So I made some changes. I decided I would no longer mindlessly do things just because that’s what society says I should do. Now, I am on my path to find my life’s true purpose and I haven’t looked back since! The only thing that has stayed consistent throughout this transition is my relationship, which I plan on keeping. It’s one of my biggest blessings.

When did you realize you had something to say about wellness? What guided you to the path of wellness? Did you grow up learning about wellness or was the path to wellness a self-taught venture?

I always felt like I was searching for something, but I could never quite figure out what. It’s always just been a feeling, you know? I’ve always been that friend that people would go to for help or advice and I have a caregivers personality. It took me a long time to realize that was a gift (and  a curse) of  mine.  I am still in the process of figuring out how to use my gift. All I know is I just want to inspire, empower, encourage, and spread positivity to all. I definitely did not grow up on this path to wellness. I was brought up to believe quite the opposite. My environment growing up was quite toxic and hostile. I was mentally and emotionally weak and abused. I was a very angry and mean person, but it was only because I was unhappy and sad inside. At the time, I didn’t realize how my actions correlated to what I felt inside. But I do now. Once I was able to remove myself from that toxicity, I was able to rebuild myself and pave my way to wellness. I’ve come such a long way and I am a completely different person than who I was 3 years ago, but I am still a work in progress and I always have room for growth and improvement.

What are a few elements of your daily routine that gets you prepared and motivated for the day ahead?

I try to stick to a simple, yet sufficient routine every morning, but it doesn’t always happen. Remember how I said I am still a work in progress? I’ve noticed whenever I do these things, I am more productive and positive, so I’m trying to make this a permanent routine of mine.

  • Meditate for at least 10 minutes. I try to avoid social media and/or emails when I first wake up. If I don’t, I’ll wind up laying in bed for another hour being unproductive.
  • Journal/Plan (my favorite part!): I love writing! So every morning I always make sure to write what I like to call my “letters to the universe.” It usually includes any and all thoughts, feelings, emotions, and events that are going on in my life and in my mind. It helps to keep myself aligned and clear headed. I also like to write my affirmations and goals for that day/week. I’ve noticed an incredible difference in myself and my productivity when I include this element in my routine. I also keep a planner to keep track of all events/assignments/appointments etc. Organization and clarity is essential to my well being.
  • Read: I love growing and expanding my knowledge as much as possible. I try to read at least one chapter of a positive/inspiring book every morning just so I can get into the right mindset. Some of my current favorites at the moment are “Light is the New Black” by Rebecca Campbell and “Careergasm” by Sarah Vermunt. These two books have helped to shift my perspective back to a lighter and inspired place.

#Tip: If you’re a commuter like I used to be, I definitely recommend listening to audiobooks or some inspirational and empowering podcasts. (They’re free!) Doing this helped me tremendously when I was working in a negative environment and it helped me to stay positive and hopeful.

What are your hopes, goals and intentions for your website?

I just want to help, it’s really that simple. I know my purpose is beyond what I can possibly imagine for myself. I was brought here to be a light to others. I wish to create and spread knowledge on spiritual wellness, finances, and all other aspects of life. I am meant to inspire and empower and I hope my website and platform is able to do just that.

How do you hope to captivate an audience?

I have experienced so much in my 21 years of life. I have seen the darkest of the dark and I truly never thought I would see the light, but here I am. I want to be able to use my personal experiences, lessons learned, and accomplishments to give hope to somebody else. I think there is a true beauty in being transparent and raw and I think people will appreciate and connect to that.

You clearly have an awesome style. Tell us a little about your style. What inspires your look?

Girl…it took me a long time to find out what my “style” is and what I like. And if we’re completely honest, I’m still trying to figure that out. It can be difficult to determine what is YOU, simply because we live in a society where we are all expected to dress the same, look the same, and act the same. Every time I tried to conform to society’s current trends, I just always felt like I was trying too hard to be something that I wasn’t. Finally, I just decided “Fuck this!” I don’t like wearing skin tight things. I don’t like having a full face of make-up everyday. I don’t want to look like the girls on Instagram. Not to say there is anything wrong with any of those things, but it’s just not me. I started to wear what I wanted, what I liked, and what I felt comfortable in. Once I let go of the ‘I should’ and focused on the ‘I want’, I noticed myself gravitating towards that earthy, bohemian style. Which is super fitting to my personality and who I am as an individual. I pay attention to texture of fabrics (soft/silky/flowy are favs) and colors (earthy and neutral). When I am in what I truly like, I feel so much more confident and sure of myself.

Bloggers usually have that ‘one thing’ that sets them apart from the rest. What’s your signature saying? (Something everyone hears and knows it’s you)

I actually have a few signature sayings that I like to think of as my life’s philosophy. I usually say these to myself whenever I need to reassure myself. Some of these sayings are:

  • “Patience & Faith.” Short, but so powerful. It’s a simple reminder to always have patience because I know that everything happens exactly when it is meant to happen, in the way it happens. And to always keep my faith in the universe whenever there might be something going on that I don’t quite understand.
  • “Everything that happens to me is the best possible thing to happen to me.” I got this quote from the book, “Zen and the Art of Happiness” by Chris Prentiss and it has stuck with me since then. It’s a nice training tool to remind yourself that whenever something “unfortunate” or “bad” happens, it’s actually neither unfortunate nor bad. Everything we experience in life or don’t, everything that works out or doesn’t, every little detail is significant as can be. Everything is to help us grow and lead us into the path that we are meant to go in. Everything.
  • “Pay attention to the signs.” I like to say this whenever I feel lost or confused. The universe is always sending us signs and angels. Ask for them and we shall always receive. It’s our job to pay attention and be aware of the signs. This can be accomplished by simply being present and observant of everything around you. By paying attention to the signs, it has led me to amazing places, relationships, accomplishments and blessings.

That’s her. There she is. Bask in her positive nature and look out for the new changes happening on her website!

 

Leave a Reply

