Updates (Mostly For Personal Reflection)

I wanted to write a short post about my trip to Seattle, but instead it is going to be a long one. My fiancé and I traveled to Seattle to interview for a job I had interest in. The company was very generous — they paid for the flight and hotel stay. They even threw in two meals (which was all we needed since our stay was short)!

The beginning of our trip didn’t start very well. We were not on the roster for our flight, which forced us to pay a sum of money to transfer to a layer flight that day. It wasn’t a 2 or 3 hour wit — it was a 12 hour wait. By this point, Terrell and I are sitting in the airport bar watching the Cardinals game and eating chicken strips. We spoke with a few individuals who sat next to us who had one or two hour waits. Most of them went on their merry way. When the time came for our evening flight, we boarded despite our hostility towards the airline. I tried to sleep but I kept nodding off and bumping my head on the tray table. He was next to me and hooked me up with a show I had never watched before. When we landed, it was late. We waited at least 45 minutes for the airport shuttle. We watched as a man was arrested for disorderly conduct. My first impressions were slowly dwindling. I was tired and cranky. We got to our hotel and learned there was no credit card on file so I hesitantly gave them my information knowing we really didn’t have $300 more dollars to spare. We got to our room and it smelled funky, but I didn’t really care. I just wanted a bed. The fire alarms went off twice – one at 3am and the other at 4am. At this point, I’m even crankier with lack of sleep and the inability to get back to sleep after the fire alarms. When we woke up, my stomach felt sick. I didn’t want to eat or talk to anyone. I got up the nerve to walk to the bus station with Terrell so we could make our way to the interview. After a period of time, we debated whether or not we were on the right bus. We arrived several minutes early, so we had nothing better to do than find a donut.

Without going into too much detail, the interview went well. It was a long day that consisted of lots of sharing, speaking to current employees and touring the facility. They were generous to offer us lunch (and we ate real fish for once). We parted ways in the early afternoon after touring a few potential housing options. One was by the water and that made me want to move even sooner. The rest of the day was filled with touring the busy city of Seattle and a lovely dinner by the water.

Seattle certainly has a different lifestyle than what I am used to. It is a very diverse bunch of people nestled into a small space. We met a lot of people along the way who tried to guide us in the right direction as Seattle hopefuls.

During the ride home from the STL airport, I checked my email and received an email from the company. They offered me the job.

Terrell and I saw this coming, but it became a reality in an instant. We had been discussing the possibility of me moving away for at least 6 months before he could and would move. The most challenging thoughts ran through my head. Could I really be that far away by myself? Could I figure out housing on my own? Could I get to work on time not knowing where in the world I’m going? Could I find and network with other young professionals? Could I make the DRIVE to Seattle on my own from Missouri? Could I realistically fit in with my new coworkers? What if I don’t like the job itself? I mean the questions go on and on. These are valid questions for any job in any location.

I spoke with my mom after I got home and she talked about these questions and brought up any more I never even thought of. I was delighted to tell her that the company would assist with initial moving costs. I would most likely live in a hotel for a few weeks while I got my bearings and found appropriate housing. I told my mom that my greatest fear would be finding housing, signing a lease and then finding myself unhappy.

But something unexpected happened soon after I signed the offer letter. I connected with two individuals whom I had gone to school with and decided this is my chance to network. This is my chance to let them know I’d be moving to the area and would love a friendly face. They both responded with their friendly smiles and a ‘yes’. They would be willing to be the friendly face in a crowd of thousands. So despite my initial fears, there are people who I can count on. Is it going to be hard? DUH, YES, OF COURSE! Am I scared? OBVIOUSLY! If I didn’t have a sense of nervousness, I wouldn’t consider myself capable of rational thinking. I am nervous but increasingly more secure in my relationship with Terrell. I know we both have our hearts invested in our future together. I wouldn’t do anything to hurt our relationship. We love one another and the distance will only be a reminder of our dedication to one another.

I still have to undergo a background check (not worried about that) and fill out some initial paperwork.

I always wanted a story where I’d move out west from the Midwest. I wanted that story of traveling through the desert and finding my own way. I didn’t think I would initially be doing it alone but that is temporary. I have strength in myself and the ones who are supporting me. I have a level of trust that what is meant to happen will happen. I will say again: I am nervous and a little scared. But I am strong. I spent the majority of my childhood moving. I had little to no friends along the way because I had inconsistencies. I want this next stop to have consistencies. I want it to have realistic interpretations of what I want from life.

Leave a Reply

